top of page

5 Things to Consider Before Getting a Tattoo


I have been fangirling over the fresh tats of my peers for the past several months/years, and I am seriously considering getting one of my own. However, my semi-conservative Evangelical Christian community has forced me to take this decision seriously, so it's become somewhat of a conundrum for me. There are also a few key sub-conundrums that I've had to consider when it comes to getting a tattoo. But, I don't think I'm the only one who has had to consider these things. Here are 4 things all those considering a tattoo should think about;

1. Theological Backing: This comes first and foremost in my mind-- for anything, but particularly for my first tattoo. I have no qualms with the spiritual references to marking one's body, mostly because any tattoo that I get will most likely directly reference my faith in Christ, unlike the idolatrous body markings of the Old Testament

2. Family/Community Opinions: Sure, in some respects, I shouldn't be swayed by the opinions of others. But, on the other hand, I take my faith very seriously, and, should a tattoo taint my witness to the world, it would be enough reason for me to rethink the ink.

3. Professional Implications: Where do I want to work or where might I end up working in the future? Is it a place that will be accepting of tattoos? If not, am I willing to cover it/them every day?

4. The DESIGN: There are probably 8 designs swirling around my head at this point. I want whatever I get to be timeless, meaningful and simplistic. Whenever I do finally decide to get a tattoo, they will probably appear here for your opinions!

5. The Artist: I hear that this is an incredibly important element to consider. I want to choose someone whose work I love and who I know will use sanitary tools. So, I'll definitely have to do my research before going under the tattoo needle.

So... I definitely still have more thinking to do, but I would be surprised if I didn't ever end up with a tattoo. Having a permanent and comforting reminder of my faith on my skin is something I've wanted for awhile, and the desire only continues to grow. Stay tuned, two-minute readers. You may see pics soon!

bottom of page